The University of Saskatchewan’s main campus is situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

2013 USSU election results: FineDay elected president; Sherbino, Abouhamra and Moellenbeck named to executive

By in News


Next year's executive, left to right, Jenna Moellenbeck, Nour Abouhamra, Jordan Sherbino, Max FineDay
Next year’s executive, left to right, Jenna Moellenbeck, Nour Abouhamra, Jordan Sherbino, Max FineDay

The 2013-14 USSU elections results are in.

Max FineDay, Jenna Moellenbeck, Jordan Sherbino and Nour Abouhamra will be next year’s University of Saskatchewan Students’ Union executive.

A total of 3,875 ballots were cast for each executive position. Voter turnout increased for the second consecutive year as approximately 23 per cent of the 17,200 U of S undergraduates voted in the election — 16 per cent voted last year and eight per cent voted the year before.

FineDay won the race for president. He narrowly beat out competitors Alyssa Bredohl and Brayden York with a total of 1,284 votes, or 33.14 per cent of the ballot. Bredohl came in a close second with 1,122 votes while York finished third with 1,065 votes.

Jenna Moellenbeck won the vice-president operations and finance position with a total of 1,351 votes, defeating Elias Nelson’s 1,172, Nathan Adams’ 450 and Rose Lien’s 406.

The hotly contested position of vice-president student affairs was comfortably won by Nour Abouhamra. The 1,028 votes she received far exceeded those of the other five candidates. Andrew Hartman came in second with 539 votes while Kristopher Jones, Payton Byrns, Gibson Odoka and Jeremy Yorga each finished third, fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively. They each received between 400 and 500 votes.

Jordan Sherbino was uncontested for the position of vice-president academic affairs. 2,643 students voted in favour of Sherbino for the position while just 243 voted against him.

Photo: Jordan Dumba
Correction: Jenna Moellenbeck was previously mispelled, and has been corrected.

Latest from News

Go to Top