The University of Saskatchewan’s main campus is situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

Four new board members tapped by province to serve university

By in News
Clockwise from upper left: David Dubé, Lee Ahenakew, Kathryn J. Ford, and Grant Issac.
Clockwise from upper left: David Dube, Lee Ahenakew, Kathryn J. Ford, and Grant Issac.

The provincial government appointed four new members to the University of Saskatchewan Board of Governors Jan. 17.

Lee Ahenakew, David Dubé, Grant Isaac and Kathryn J. Ford were tapped to replace outgoing chair Nancy Hopkins along with board members Garry Standing, David Sutherland and Art Dumont, all of whose three-year terms expired at the start of 2013.

The Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing the university’s management and administration, and controls the university’s finances, properties and revenue, including tuition.

The board is made up of 11 members including the president of the university, the chancellor, a student member — usually the president of the U of S Students’ Union — an elected faculty member, two members elected by the university senate and five members elected by the provincial government.

Ahenakew received a bachelor of commerce from the U of S and is a senior advisor in aboriginal affairs for mining giant BHP Billiton.

Dubé is a political studies graduate of the U of S, a former Huskie football player and the CEO of the Concorde Group Corporation.

Isaac is the senior vice-president and chief financial officer of Cameco. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the university and is a graduate of the London School of Economics. He taught at the U of S for nine years and was the dean of the Edwards School of Business.

Ford, an arts graduate from the U of S, has practiced law in Saskatoon for over 35 years. She holds the honorary title of Queen’s Counsel for her strong merit and contributions to the legal profession.

The new members were all appointed to three-year terms.

Members will vote on a new chair of the board at the next meeting March 4. The chair cannot be selected from the new members, the faculty or student representative, the university president or the chancellor.

Photos: University of Saskatchewan

Latest from News

Go to Top