The University of Saskatchewan’s main campus is situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

Electoral map: The youth vote

By in 2011 Federal Election/News
What ridings can youth influence in this election?

Canadian University Press

The map covers all universities in Canada and outlines the margin of victory that candidates enjoyed in the last election. Compare that number with the number of youth and students in the riding to see just how much an impact youth voting can have in a specific riding.

Riding population data was collected from Elections Canada, who used 2006 census numbers. 2008 election results are courtesy of the CBC’s riding-by-riding results breakdown and the margin of victory was calculated from these numbers. The number of eligible youth voters in a riding is based on 2006 census figures from Statistics Canada. Student enrolment numbers are from the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada and based on preliminary numbers from fall 2010.

Editor’s note: We chose not to include colleges and their populations because their multiple campuses made it difficult to isolate students enrolled to one riding. At universities in Canada’s major urban centres, students may not live in the riding their university is located in. Because there is no data on precise addresses of university students, we chose to associate the numbers with the campus locations considering most university students would live close to their respective campus.

Special note: The University of Toronto is unique in that it’s sheer size means it spans four electoral ridings: Toronto Centre, Trinity-Spadina, Mississauga-Erindale and Pickering-Scarborough East. The number of students enrolled listed for each riding is the total spanning the entire university.

List of mapped universities and their respective ridings (west to east):

Royal Roads University — Esquimalt-Juan de Fuca
University of Victoria — Victoria
Vancouver Island University — Nanaimo-Cowichan
Quest University — West Vancouver-Sunshine Coast-Sea to Sky Country
University of British Columbia — Vancouver Quadra
Emily Carr University — Vancouver Centre
Capilano University — North Vancouver
Simon Fraser University — Burnaby-Douglas
Trinity Western University — Langley
University of the Fraser Valley — Abbotsford
University of Northern British Columbia — Cariboo-Prince George
Thompson Rivers University — Kamloops-Thompson-Cariboo
University of Calgary — Calgary West
Mount Royal University — Calgary Centre
Grant MacEwan University — Edmonton Centre
University of Alberta — Edmonton-Strathcona
University of Lethbridge — Lethbridge
University of Saskatchewan — Saskatoon-Humboldt
University of Regina — Wascana
First Nations University of Canada — Wascana
Brandon University — Brandon-Souris
University of Winnipeg — Winnipeg Centre
University of Manitoba — Winnipeg South
Lakehead University — Thunder Bay-Superior North
Algoma University — Sault Ste. Marie
University of Windsor — Windsor West
Laurentian University — Sudbury
University of Western Ontario — London North Centre
University of Waterloo — Kitchener-Waterloo
Wilfrid Laurier University — Kitchener-Waterloo
University of Guelph — Guelph
Nipissing University — Nipissing-Timiskaming
McMaster University — Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale
Brock University — Welland
York University — York West
Ontario College of Art and Design University — Trinity-Spadina
Ryerson University — Toronto Centre
University of Toronto — Mississauga-Erindale, Trinity-Spadina, Toronto Centre, Pickering-Scarborough East
Trent University — Peterborough
Queen’s University — Kingston and the Islands
Royal Military College of Canda — Kingston and the Islands
Carleton University — Ottawa Centre
University of Ottawa — Ottawa-Vanier
Université de Montréal — Outremont
Concordia University — Westmount-Ville-Marie
McGill University — Westmount-Ville-Marie
Université de Sherbrooke — Sherbrooke
Bishop’s University — Compton-Stanstead
Université Laval — Louis-Hébert
University of New Brunswick — Fredericton
St. Thomas University — Fredericton
Mount Allison University — Beauséjour
Université de Moncton — Moncton-Riverview-Dieppe
University of Prince Edward Island — Charlottetown
Acadia University — Kings-Hants
Mount Saint Vincent University — Halifax West
Dalhousie University — Halifax
Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University — Halifax
University of King’s College — Halifax
Saint Mary’s University — Halifax
St. Francis Xavier University — Central Nova
Cape Breton University — Cape Breton-Canso
Memorial University of Newfoundland — St. John’s East

Latest from 2011 Federal Election

Go to Top